

Announcement of the first round results <u>EV Super Micro Mobility Design Contest</u> <u>for International Students 2015</u>

Nobuhiro Tajima, Chief Commissioner Association for the Promotion of Electric Vehicles(Japan)

We Association for the Promotion of Electric Vehicles(Japan) hold the second "EV Super Micro Mobility Design Contest for International Students 2015", coinciding with "SMART MOBILITY CITY 2015" in the Tokyo Motor Show. The first contest was held in 2013.

Today we are pleased to announce the first round results.

Many teams submitted so high-level works that it makes the selection extremely difficult. Finally, 25 teams are selected as follows.

The first round results

- ★Total:17 schools / 25 teams (Entry : 44 schools / 98 teams)
- ★From Japan: 13 schools / 17 teams
- ★From overseas: 4 countries,4 schools / 8 teams (Taiwan:1 school / 4 teams, Korea:1 school / 2 teams, China:1 school / 1 team, Italy:1 school / 1 team)

Please wait for the final round results announcement and award ceremony of winning entries at the Tokyo Motor Show (the schedule is shown below).

The detailed results can be found on the next page.

What is the "EV Super Micro Mobility Design Contest"?

- Exhibit: An EV SMM design that satisfies EV SMM standards set by the Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism in Japan.
- Participants: Teams consisting of students, 18 years old or older, representing a school in Japan or overseas (two or more members per team)
- APEV intend to continue this contest after year 2016 in conjunction with Tokyo Motor Show to promote SMM and to encourage students' study for designing automobile.

★Please refer special web site in detail.<http://www.apev.jp/contest/en/>

Schedule (plan)

Fri, July 24, 2015: The first round results announced

Fri, Sept. 11, 2015: Deadline for the final round work

Fri, Sept. 25, 2015: The final round results announced

From Oct. 28, 2015 until Nov. 8, 2015: Exhibition of winning entries *

Wed, Nov. 4, 2015: Award ceremony of winning entries *

(*At "SMART MOBILITY CITY 2015" a project established by the organizers of the Tokyo Motor Show)

Feb. of 2016: Report on the Design Contest results and symposium on future plans (The schedule is subject to change).



The first round results

* As of July 24,2015

	Note	Name of Schools		Name of Teams
		Original	English	Name of Teams
1	J	麻生建築&デザイン専門学校	ASO Architecture and Design College	ELEVATE
2	J	千葉大学	Chiba University	КОМ
3	J	千葉大学	Chiba University	PDL B4
4	J	千葉大学	Chiba University	PML
5	J	千葉大学	Chiba University	CUDD
6	С	広州美術学院	Guangzhou Academy of Fine Arts	Summer
7	J	専門学校HAL大阪	HAL Osaka College of Technology & Design	Takayuki Hayashi
8	Т	華梵大學	Huafan University	Formosa Blue Magpie
9	Т	華梵大學	Huafan University	Homelessness
10	Т	華梵大學	Huafan University	Kangaroo
11	Т	華梵大學	Huafan University	LEMMINI
12	Ι	IAAD	Istituto d'Arte Applicata e Design	VAN
13	J	北陸先端科学技術大学院大学	Japan Advanced Institute of Science and Technology	INUWASHI
14	К	済州大学校	Jeju National University	+ 413
15	К	済州大学校	Jeju National University	B414
16	J	女子美術大学	Joshibi University of Art and Design	GMP Team Q
17	J	京都工芸繊維大学	Kyoto Institute of Technology	Naawopolus
18	J	九州産業大学	Kyushu Sangyo University	Roar
19	J	九州産業大学	Kyushu Sangyo University	Soft Drinkers
20	J	九州大学	Kyushu University	AViDO
21	J	武蔵野美術大学	Musashino Art University	MID
22	J	名古屋市立大学	Nagoya City University	Lionel
23	J	岡山県立大学	Okayama Prefectural University	OPU
24	J	首都大学東京	Tokyo Metropolitan University	GYB
25	J	東京造形大学	Tokyo Zokei University	MOLD

Note : C=China, I=Italy, J=Japan, K=Korea, T=Taiwan

Head of Screening Committee



Mr. Ken Okuyama Industrial designer & CEO of KEN OKUYAMA DESIGN

Screening Committee



Mr. Tadao Ando Architect & Professor Emeritus, University of Tokyo



Mr. Shiro Nakamura Chairman of the Tokyo Motor Show Committee, JAMA & Senior Vice President, CCO, Nissan Motor Co., Ltd.



Mr. Yoichiro Kawaguchi Artist & Professor, Interfaculty Initiatives in Information Studies, University of Tokyo



Ms. Keiko Ihara Guest Associate Professor. Graduate School of Media Design, Keio University, Racing driver



Mr. Nobuhiro Tajima Chief Commissioner, APEV

Awards (plan)

- 1) Highest award 100,000 yen (One team)
- 2) Opportunity to present work at the Tokyo Motor Show
- 3) Special experiences involving EVs for the winning teams
 - Example 1: Meetings with well-known designers
 - Example 2: Invitation to events such as tours using EVs (Benesse Award) Example 3: Other awards offered by sponsors
- 4) Miniature models of the winning entries fabricated using 3D printing (Marubeni Information Systems Award)

