## <a href="#"><Attn.: APEV Members and News Media></a>

### [Press Release]

APEV nber 25 2015

September 25 2015

# Announcement of the Prize-winning Teams of the EV Super Micro Mobility Design Contest for International Students 2015

Nobuhiro Tajima, Chief Commissioner Association for the Promotion of Electric Vehicles (Japan)

Following the first contest in 2013, the Association for the Promotion of Electric Vehicles (Japan) is organizing the second round of the EV Super Micro Mobility Design Contest for International Students 2015 in conjunction with SMART MOBILITY CITY 2015 at the Tokyo Motor Show.

In the second screening by the screening committee headed by Ken Okuyama, twenty-five teams representing 17 schools from the first screening were narrowed down to six prize-winning teams—namely 6 teams representing 6 schools in Japan. Unfortunately none of the teams from overseas were awarded any prizes.

Posters of these teams will be exhibited in the venue of the upcoming SMART MOBILITY CITY 2015 organized as a theme-based project of the Tokyo Motor Show. Moreover, they are requested to present their design during the ceremony planned at the Advanced Technology Seminar on November 4, where award certificates, trophies, and prizes will be presented after selecting the winners of the grand prize, special prize, and sponsor awards.

(See "Schedule" for the date and time)

APEV members and news media are kindly requested to participate in the event.

For more details, please refer to the list of prize-winner teams on the next page.

#### What is the EV Super Micro Mobility Design Contest?

- Exhibit: An EV SMM design that satisfies EV SMM standards set by the Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism in Japan.
- Participants: Teams consisting of students, 18 years old or older, representing a school in Japan or overseas (two or more members per team)
- APEV intends to continue this contest after year 2016 in conjunction with the Tokyo Motor Show to promote SMM and to encourage students to study automobile designing.
- ★Please refer to our designated web site in detail.<a href="http://www.apev.jp/contest/en/">http://www.apev.jp/contest/en/</a>

#### Schedule (plan)

★ Announcement of the results of the second screening

September 25, 2015 (Friday)

- ★ Exhibition of posters of prize-winning design October 28 (Wednesday) November 8 (Sunday), 2015 (At the venue of SMART MOBILITY CITY 2015 organized as the theme-based project of Tokyo Motor Show)
- ★Awards ceremony of winning entries November 4, 2015 (Wednesday) from 10:00 a.m. (During the Advanced Technology Seminar of SMART MOBILITY CITY 2015 as above)
- ★Report on the design contest results and symposium on future plans (Iwata City, Shizuoka Prefecture)

  February 19, 2016 (Friday)

\* The schedule is subject to change.



#### **List of Prize-winning Teams**

\*As of September 25, 2015 (in alphabetical order by school name)

Entry #	Name of Schools		Name of Teams
	Japanese	English	Name of Teams
3	千葉大学	Chiba University	PDL B4
7	専門学校HAL大阪	HAL Osaka College of Technology & Design	Takayuki Hayashi
17	京都工芸繊維大学	Kyoto Institute of Technology	Nasawopolus
21	武蔵野美術大学	Musashino Art University	MID
23	岡山県立大学	Okayama Prefectural University	OPU
24	首都大学東京	Tokyo Metropolitan University	GYB

#### **Awards**

- (1) Highest award 100,000 yen (one team)
- (2) Excellence awards (five teams)
  - 1) Special award (one team)
  - 2) Sponsor awards (four teams)
    - ★ Invitation to events involving travel with EVs (Benesse Award)
    - ★ A model made with a 3D printer (Marubeni Information Systems Award)
    - ★ Other sponsor awards (Dassault Systèmes Award and NTN Award)



## Head of Screening Committee



Mr. Ken Okuyama Industrial designer & CEO of KEN OKUYAMA DESIGN

#### **Screening Committee**



Mr. Tadao Ando Architect & Professor Emeritus, University of Tokyo



Mr. Shiro Nakamura Chairman of the Tokyo Motor Show Committee, JAMA & Senior Vice President, CCO, Nissan Motor Co., Ltd.



Mr. Yoichiro Kawaguchi Artist & Professor, Interfaculty Initiatives in Information Studies, University of Tokyo



Ms. Keiko Ihara Guest Associate Professor, Graduate School of Media Design, Keio University, Racing driver



Mr. Nobuhiro Tajima Chief Commissioner, APEV

#### Organizations



Host: Association for the Promotion of Electric Vehicles (APEV)

Supporters (in alphabetical order):

Interfaculty Initiative in Information Studies, The University of Tokyo

Japan Automobile Manufacturers Association, Inc. (JAMA)

Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry

Ministry of the Environment

Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism







#### **Sponsors**

#### Sponsor companies confirmed for the first round (in alphabetical order).

Benesse Holdings, Inc.

Marubeni Information System Co., Ltd.

Nissan Motor Co., Ltd

#### Sponsor companies confirmed for the second round (in alphabetical order).

Dassault Systèmes K.K. Forum Engineering Inc.

Honda R&D Co., Ltd. NTN Corporation

Renesas Electronics Corporation Toyota Motor Corporation

#### NISSAN MOTOR COMPANY





















#### **Contact**

Gen Yasujima, EV Design Contest Secretary-General Association for the

Promotion of Electric Vehicles (APEV)

TEL: +81-50-3736-8325 FAX: +81-50-3153-2686

E-mail: contest@apev.jp

Website: http://www.apev.jp/contest/en/