Association for the Promotion of Electric Vehicles



<attn.: APEV Members and News Media> November 6 2015

Each Award Was Announced at the Awards Ceremony of the EV Super Micro Mobility Design Contest for International Students 2015

Nobuhiro Tajima, Chief Commissioner Association for the Promotion of Electric Vehicles (Japan)

This year, the Association for the Promotion of Electric Vehicles organized the second EV Super Micro Mobility Design Contest for International Students 2015 in conjunction with SMART MOBILITY CITY 2015, a themed-based project of the Tokyo Motor Show.

The number of applicants nearly tripled from the last contest in 2013 with 98 Japanese and international student teams. Six finalist teams were involved in a tight battle to the end as the presentation on the award day was added as one of the examination criteria. Following is an outline of the presentations of the finalist student teams and the awards ceremony for each award.

Outline

Date/time: 10:00 a.m. to 11:30 a.m. on Wednesday, November 4, 2015

Venue: Conference Tower, Tokyo Big Sight (Koto-ku, Tokyo)

*Themed-based project of the Tokyo Motor Show 2015

During the Advanced Technology Seminar of SMART MOBILITY CITY 2015

Host: Association for the Promotion of Electric Vehicles

Attendees: About 150 attendees including students receiving awards and their family members and friends, judges, and representatives from sponsors and support groups

Order of ceremony: Each team made a presentation on the awarded project in alphabetical order of the names of their universities. Then, judges made a final review to determine the recipients of the Grand Prix, Special Award, and Sponsors' Awards and presented a certificate of commendation, trophy, and prize list to each recipient.

Awards	Name of Schools		Name of Tooms
	Japanese	English	Name of Teams
Grand Prix	京都工芸繊維大学	Kyoto Institute of Technology	Nasawopolus
Special Award	首都大学東京	Tokyo Metropolitan University	GYB
Benesse Award	岡山県立大学	Okayama Prefectural University	OPU
Marubeni Information Systems Award	専門学校HAL大阪	HAL Osaka College of Technology & Design	Takayuki Hayashi
NTN Award	武蔵野美術大学	Musashino Art University	MID
Dassault Systemes Award	千葉大学	Chiba University	PDL B4

Awards



- (1) Highest award 100,000 yen (one team)
- (2) Excellence awards (five teams)
 - 1) Special award (one team)
 - 2) Sponsor awards (four teams)
 - ★ Invitation to events involving travel with EVs (Benesse Award)
 - ★ A model made with a 3D printer (Marubeni Information Systems Award)
 - ★ Other sponsor awards (Dassault Systèmes Award and NTN Award)

Order of the ceremony

- 1. Organizer greeting: Mr. Nobuhiro Tajima, Chief Commissioner of APEV
- 2. Greeting: Mr. Toshiyuki Nishimoto, Director of Environmental Policy Division, Road Transport Bureau, Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transportation and Tourism
- 3. Presentations of works and discussion
 - 1) Chiba University
 - 2) HAL Osaka College of Technology & Design
 - 3) Kyoto Institute of Technology
 - 4) Musashino Art University
 - 5) Okayama Prefectural University
 - 6) Tokyo Metropolitan University
- 4. Commending:
 - Giving of a certificate of commendation and a trophy of awards (Presenter)
 - 1) NTN Award (Mr. Takehiko Umemoto, Director, NTN Corporation)
 - 2) Marubeni Information Systems Award (Mr. Hiroyuki Maruoka, Manager, Marubeni Information System Co., Ltd)
 - 3) Dassault Systèmes Award (Mr. Akihiko Tanaka, Director, Dassault Systèmes K.K)
 - 4) Benesse Award (Mr. Hisato Hoshi, Corporate Adviser, Benesse Holdings, Inc.)
 - 5) Special Award (Ms. Keiko Ihara, Screening Committee)
 - 6) Grand Prix (Mr. Ken Okuyama, Industrial Designer, CEO, Ken Okuyama Design.)
- 5. General comments by Head of Screening Committee: Mr. Ken Okuyama
- 6. Commemorative photograph session by all the members

Schedule (plan)

- ★ Exhibition of posters of prize-winning design October 28 (Wednesday) November 8 (Sunday), 2015 (At the venue of SMART MOBILITY CITY 2015 organized as the theme-based project of Tokyo Motor Show)
- ★Report on the design contest results and symposium on future plans (Iwata City, Shizuoka Prefecture) February 19, 2016 (Friday)
 - * The schedule is subject to change.

Pictures



Mr. N Tajima, Chief Commissioner APEV



Mr. T Nishimoto Director MLIT



Kyoto Institute of Technology



Tokyo Metropolitan University



Okayama Prefectural University



HAL Osaka



Musashino Art University



Chiba University



Commemorative photograph of all the members

APEV

Organizations

Host: Association for the Promotion of Electric Vehicles (APEV) Supporters (in alphabetical order):

Interfaculty Initiative in Information Studies, The University of Tokyo

Japan Automobile Manufacturers Association, Inc. (JAMA)

Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry

Ministry of the Environment

Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism







Sponsors

Sponsor companies confirmed for the first round (in alphabetical order).

Benesse Holdings, Inc. Marubeni Information System Co., Ltd.

Nissan Motor Co., Ltd

Sponsor companies confirmed for the second round (in alphabetical order).

Dassault Systèmes K.K.

Honda R&D Co., Ltd. NTN Corporation

Renesas Electronics Corporation

Toyota Motor Corporation

Forum Engineering Inc.

























Contact Information

Mr. Gen Yasujima, EV Design Contest Secretary-General Association for the Promotion of Electric Vehicles (APEV)

TEL: +81-50-3736-8325 FAX: +81-50-3153-2686

E-mail: contest@apev.jp

Website: http://www.apev.jp/contest/en/