

June 12 2017

Announcement of the first screening results EV Mobility Design Contest for International Students 2017

Nobuhiro Tajima, Chief Commissioner

Association for the Promotion of Electric Vehicles(Japan)

Association for the Promotion of Electric Vehicles (APEV) is now holding 2017 EV Mobility Design Contest for International Students.

Today we are pleased to announce the first screening results.

The selection was extremely difficult because every team submits an excellent work.

The selected teams are as below.

★Total:16 schools / 23 teams (Entry:34 schools / 96 teams)

★From Japan: 9 schools / 12 teams

★From overseas: 8 countries,7 schools / 11 teams (2 schools / 2 teams : China,

1 school / 2 teams : India, Italy

1 school / 1 team: Philippines, Taiwan, Tunisia, Uganda, UK)

Please wait for the final screening and award ceremony of winning entries at the Tokyo Motor Show in this autumn.

Please refer the List of selected teams (Alphabetical order of name of schools)

Country	学校名	Name of Schools	Name of Teams
Japan	産業技術大学院大学	Advanced Institute of Industrial Technology	ebi-P
Tunisia	Car Design Academy	Car Design Academy	Jimaxon
Philippines	Car Design Academy	Car Design Academy	Team Hope
Uganda	Car Design Academy	Car Design Academy	Magnitude
Japan	千葉工業大学	Chiba Institute of Technology	SAL
Japan	千葉大学大学院	Chiba University	CNCT
Japan	千葉大学	Chiba University	Co2
Japan	千葉大学	Chiba University	K3S0
Japan	千葉大学	Chiba University	PED B4
Taiwan	仏光大学	Fo Guang University	Transformer
China	Guangzhou Academy of Fine Arts	Guangzhou Academy of Fine Arts	Triple Six
Japan	HAL名古屋	HAL Nagoya College of Technology & Design	Quattro Formaggi
Italy	IAAD	IAAD – Istituto d'arte applicata e design	BOOP Design
Italy	IAAD	IAAD – Istituto d'arte applicata e design	LE-ON
China	Jiangnan University	Jiangnan University	Jiangnan Geek
Japan	九州産業大学 大学院	Kyushu Sangyo University	Mont Blanc
Japan	名古屋市立大学	Nagoya City University	GoL
India	National Institute of Design	National Institute of Design	Team EV India
India	National Institute of Design	National Institute of Design	Team Revolt
Japan	日本工学院八王子専門学校	Nihon Kogakuin College	Matsushita Junya
UK	Royal College of Art	Royal College of Art	Huku Design
Japan	東京コミュニケーションアート専門学校	Tokyo Communication Arts	KIM HYEON SU
Japan	首都大学東京大学院	Tokyo Metropolitan University	N電気
9	Total	16	23



[Outline of the Contest]

> Host: The Association for the Promotion of Electric Vehicles (APEV)

 Supporters: (in alphabetical order) Graduate School of Interdisciplinary Information Studies, University of Tokyo Japan Automobile Manufacturers Association, Inc. (JAMA) Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry of Japan Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism of Japan Ministry of the Environment of Japan Tokyo Metropolitan Government

> Sponsors:

 Companies confirmed for the first round Benesse Holdings, Inc.
 Honda R&D Co., Ltd.
 IHI Transport Machinery Co., Ltd.
 Nissan Motor Co., Ltd.
 NTN Corporation
 Renesas Electronics Corporation
 Yamaha Motor Co., Ltd.

 Companies confirmed for the second round Bosch Corporation Car Design Academy Marubeni Information Systems Co., Ltd.
 Mitsubishi Chemical Corporation Tools International Corporation (Companies for the second round are being wanted.)





Schedule (plan)

12th June 2017: Announcement of the first screening results
1st July 2017: Workshop 1 in Tokyo
14th August 2017: Deadline for the work for the second screening
1st September 2017: Announcement of the second screening results
Mid- September 2017: Workshop 2 in Tokyo
End-October to Early-November 2017: Final screening and award ceremony in Tokyo
February to March 2018: Final report meeting
(The schedule is subject to change)

Awards

- Grand Pix(1 team), with 200 thousand yen as a supplementary prize
- METI (Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry) Minister Award (1 team), with 100 thousand yen as a supplementary prize
- MLIT (Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism) Minister Award (1 team), with 100 thousand yen as a supplementary prize
- Company Award (several teams), official names and supplementary prizes will be decided by supporting companies.
- Screening Committee
 - ◆ Head: Shiro Nakamura(Ex-Senior Vice President, CCO, Nissan Motor Co., Ltd.)
 - Members:
 - •Tadao Ando (Architect & Professor Emeritus, University of Tokyo)
 - •Akihiro Nagaya (Executive Officer, Chief General Manager, Design Center, Yamaha Motor Co., Ltd.)
 - ·Ken Okuyama (Industrial Designer & CEO, Ken Okuyama Design)
 - •Patrick le Quément (Industrial designer & Ex-Senior Vice President of Corporate design, Renault)
 - ·Zhang, Fan (Vice President, Head of Design Guangzhou Automobile Group Co., Ltd.)
 - •Noriyuki Mita (Deputy Director-General, Manufacturing Industries Bureau Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry)
 - Masayuki Shima (Senior Deputy Director-General, Road Transport Bureau Ministry of Land, Infrastructure, Transport and Tourism)
 - •Nobuhiro Tajima (Chief Commissioner, Association for the Promotion of Electric Vehicles)

Contact	Gen Yasujima , EV Design Contest Secretary-General
	Association for the Promotion of Electric Vehicles (APEV)
TEL:+81-50-3736-8325 FAX:+81-50-3153-2686	
E-mail:contest@apev.jp	
	Website: http://www.apev.jp/contest/en/